Mailings for IASS + IAOS

IASSIAOS               ISI

Nominations Sought for the 2023 Waksberg Award 

The journal Survey Methodology has established an annual invited paper series in honor of the late Joseph Waksberg to recognize his outstanding contributions to survey statistics and methodology. Each year a prominent survey statistician is chosen to write a paper that reviews the development and current state of an important topic in the field of survey statistics and methodology. The paper reflects the mixture of theory and practice that characterized Joseph Waksberg’s work.

The recipient of the Waksberg Award will receive an honorarium and give the 2023 Waksberg Invited Address at the Statistics Canada Symposium, expected to be held in the autumn of 2023. The paper will be published in an upcoming issue of Survey Methodology (targeted for December 2023).

The author of the 2023 Waksberg paper will be selected by a four-person committee appointed by Survey Methodology and the American Statistical Association. Nomination of individuals to be considered should be sent by email before February 28, 2022 to the chair of the committee, Jack Gambino ( Nominations should include a CV and a nomination letter. Nominations will remain active for 5 years.

Previous Waksberg Award honorees (last 5 years) and their invited papers are (for awardees since 2001 please see

2022  Roderick J. Little. Manuscript in preparation.

2021  Sharon Lohr, “Multiple-frame surveys for a multiple-data-source world”, Survey Methodology (expected for vol. 47, 2).

2020  Roger Tourangeau, “Science and survey management”, Survey Methodology, vol. 47, 1, 3-28.

2019  Chris Skinner.

2018  Jean-Claude Deville, “De la pratique à la théorie : l’exemple du calage à poids bornés”. 10ème Colloque francophone sur les sondages, Université Lumière Lyon 2.