Mailings for IASS

IASS          ISI

Dear statisticians!

The January 2022 issue of the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS) newsletter The Survey Statistician is now available here.

This issue starts with the Letter from the President by Monica Pratesi, where she highlights a number of successful achievements of the IASS when countries are getting back to some normalcy. It is followed by the Report from the Scientific Secretary, Giovanna Ranalli where she underscores solid participation to the Webinar series and increases in the number of our followers on social media.

Congratulations to Monica Pratesi, Carl-Erik Sӓrndal, Roderick Little and Raymond Chambers on various occasions are included. Tim Holt who recently passed away is remembered. The forthcoming conferences are listed.

The current issue contains the following articles:

  • The Ask the Experts section:
    Mixed mode official surveys. Current status and near future By Barry Schouten, Jan van den Brakel, Deirdre Giesen, Annemieke Luiten and Vivian Meertens
  • New and Emerging Methods section:
    Using Social Media to Enhance Survey Data by Annamaria Bianchi, Camilla Salvatore and Silvia Biffignandi.
  • Book & Software Review section:
    Multiple Imputation of Missing data in Practice Basic Theory and Analysis Strategies by Maria Michela Dickson
    Multiple Imputation of Missing Complex Survey Data using SAS®: A Brief Overview and An Example Based on the Research and Development Survey (RANDS) by Yulei He and Guangyu Zhang
  • The Country Reports from Argentina, Australia, Canada, Croatia, Estonia, France, Germany, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Peru, Portugal, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United States are included into the current issue.

We thank all of the section editors and contributors to the newsletter. 

To become a member of the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS), you have to register first at Login (, an activation link will be sent to the email address you entered. After activation, you can log in to using the username (email address) and the password you entered during registration. If you have any problem please send an e-mail to

The Journal of Official Statistics announces Call for Papers for an upcoming special issue on integrating data from multiple sources for production of official statistics from a methodological perspective.

Kind regards

Danutė Krapavickaitė and Eric Rancourt
Editors, The Survey Statistician